Author Topic: Import to current scene issues (KS5)  (Read 9418 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kbova41188

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« on: December 11, 2014, 12:21:17 pm »
Hey guys,

I've been using keyshot for a little over a year and I love it but, since I have upgraded to KS5, I have been having trouble importing models/bip files to current scenes. I have not had this issue with KS4.

I currently have a completed scene with materials and labels assigned and I want to add another model to the scene.  When I click import and select the model (iges file), the import menu box doesn't have the option to "add to scene."  Is this a weird glitch or am I not doing something correctly?

I can import multiple models into a new KS5 that hasn't been saved yet but as soon as I save it and reopen it and try to import a new model to the scene, it doesn't work.

Thanks,
Kevin

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 12:54:35 pm »
can you post a screenshot of the dialog box?

Offline kbova41188

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2014, 01:04:43 pm »
Below is the dialog box after I have selected a file to import.

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2014, 03:29:22 pm »
This looks like a new import.

Offline kbova41188

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2014, 04:48:03 am »
Yeah, you can see in the background I have 2 models already in the scene that are already setup.  Is there another way to import to the current scene?

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2014, 04:50:31 am »
This is very weird. Can you share the original seen with me, and the igs file you are trying to import? Send it all to [email protected] using keyshot.wetransfer.com.

Thanks, Thomas

Offline kbova41188

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2014, 06:43:14 am »
Hi Thomas, I just sent a zipped folder with all that's needed to open the bip file.  Thank you very much for looking into this.

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2014, 06:53:37 am »
Downloading now. Why don't you import the ALIAS files natively?

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2014, 07:02:55 am »
I opened the bip. Then I click import and select the bottle. I'm getting the dialog that allows me to add to scene.

Offline kbova41188

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2014, 09:00:45 am »
That is so strange. It still won't work for me.  Is it possible that it could be a permissions thing?  I had some trouble with permissions to read/write and had to change the settings for the materials, environments, and downloads.

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2014, 09:37:44 am »
I tried on both Mac and PC - and it works. Is it possible to do a screen recording and send it to me?

Offline haprod

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2014, 04:38:10 am »
I just had the same "missing add to scene" problem too.

My workaround was that I imported a model to KS as a new project (the only option available because of this problem), then saved and closed the new project and reopened the original scene - then suddenly when I chose import from the menu the option "add to scene" was available again and I could continue.

Offline kbova41188

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2015, 05:46:42 am »
I wanted to update everyone.  I updated keyshot 5 with the latest update (I believe it became available a few weeks ago) and everything works fine now. Thanks for all the comments and replies. I hope the update works for anyone else with the same issue.

Offline Vito

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2015, 04:17:55 am »
I have the same problem. I just updated, tested and failed again. Is there anything else I need to switch on/off?
With other geoemtry I do not have this problem  :-[

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Import to current scene issues (KS5)
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2015, 04:20:54 am »
Vito - can you describe what the problem is? What do you mean you don't have the problem with other geometry?