Author Topic: How do you deal with multiple shots?  (Read 1762 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline andy.engelkemier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
How do you deal with multiple shots?
« on: May 30, 2014, 04:08:12 am »
Every different camera angle needs it's own lighting, right? So how are you guys dealing with that?

Am I missing something? It appears you can only have 1 environment in your file. So are you saving the environment as a custom environment for every camera shot, and then just writing down all the settings for it?

Offline DriesV

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2412
  • Product Specialist at Luxion
Re: How do you deal with multiple shots?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2014, 04:44:10 am »
For KS4 and newer, viewsets are the answer. And if you're using KS5 already (you should!) you now have Scene sets at your disposal too.

Viewsets = Coupling camera & environment
Scene sets = Coupling models & camera & environment (full design swapping)

Btw, these are Pro only features.

Dries
« Last Edit: May 30, 2014, 04:49:28 am by DriesV »

Offline andy.engelkemier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
Re: How do you deal with multiple shots?
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2014, 05:05:50 am »
Ah, I missed viewsets. That's the answer. Thank you.

Scene sets? I have some problems with that one. First, it doesn't do the environment. That's what I tried first. But the main problem I have with that is how it works. It doesn't just hide/move objects. They are no longer visible in the scene at all. So lets say you make a scene set with part A and part B, among other things. Later, you make a scene set hiding those two parts. But after that, someone says, "no, this version should have part A visible."
So where is part A? It's not hidden in the scene tree. It's just not there at all. In my opinion, it should record visibility, not removal. And like i said, it doesn't record environment right now. I'll keep an eye on that feature in the future though. Bunkspeed had a similar problem with their scene states. It wasn't clear to the user how to update them. Well, that...and they randomly would stop working or crash. So there's that.

Offline Bruno F

  • KeyShot Support
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 169
Re: How do you deal with multiple shots?
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2014, 09:42:57 am »
Scene sets in KeyShot behave similarly to Configurations in SolidWorks.  Once a scene set is created, it is always saving your changes.  So if you make Scene Set A active and you begin to make changes to the geometry, those changes are saved immediately and permanently to Scene Set A:

1.  First you create Scene Set A
2.  Then you can make changes to the geometry
3.  If your next scene set is based off of the existing scene set, then create a new Scene Set B
4.  Then make changes to the geometry in Scene Set B

An alternative workflow would be to use the Default scene set as the "master copy" from which other scene sets are derived.  You just have to make sure to keep making Default active when creating a new scene set:

1.  Make changes to the geometry while the Default scene set is active
2.  Create Scene Set A
3.  Make Default the active scene set
4.  Make changes to the geometry
5.  Create Scene Set B

Offline andy.engelkemier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 402
Re: How do you deal with multiple shots?
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2014, 10:51:35 am »
I wonder what happens when you do all that, then someone says, "Hey, you missed PartA in these six versions." Now what?
I have to do all six of those version over again? If I didn't have PartA in any of those versions, even though it's in my "default" set, I can't get to it. I Should just be able to turn it on. But it's not even in the list. Shouldn't I have a way to access the whole scene tree?

Offline KeyShot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
Re: How do you deal with multiple shots?
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2014, 02:40:48 pm »
If you set it up without certain parts then you will have to start over. We are looking into adding the ability to drag parts between scene sets.


Offline Robb63

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 584
Re: How do you deal with multiple shots?
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2014, 04:09:37 pm »
I've just discovered "Scene Sets", and at first was loving them, then when I went back into some scenes certain geometry was missing or had moved. Then I read this thread and now I understand that it is always updating. But, that seems counter-intuitive to me. It seems like scene sets would be much better if they were more like "View Sets" in that it doesn't continually update.

Is there a workflow that is better because it updates constantly?