Author Topic: A bug when importing solidworks model with sketch image on  (Read 3251 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bzemer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Industrial design student
    • Boaz Zemer Design portfolio
A bug when importing solidworks model with sketch image on
« on: February 08, 2014, 11:53:20 pm »
Hi,
I found out that if you try to import a solidworks part while a sketch picture is shown in the background, keyshot will not import it.
It says the file has no geometry.
I provided two solidworks parts as examples.

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: A bug when importing solidworks model with sketch image on
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 05:44:36 am »
Do you mean a backplate image? I was trying to reproduce this and it works fine on the Mac. What version of SolidWorks are you using?

Offline bzemer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Industrial design student
    • Boaz Zemer Design portfolio
Re: A bug when importing solidworks model with sketch image on
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2014, 05:53:10 am »
No, I mean inside solidworks (2013) there is a sketch with an image, and when I drag the file into KeyShot, after saving with the picture on, it can't import.

You can see the thumbnail preview on my windows, the ON part looks like the model is cut in half.
I think this confuses KeyShot for some reason, thinking there is no geometry in the file.

I also provided a screen capture from within solidworks.

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: A bug when importing solidworks model with sketch image on
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2014, 06:01:12 am »
Once again it works fine on the Mac. We will look into it on Windows. If you check "beta import" in the import dialog, it will probably work.

Offline bzemer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 29
  • Industrial design student
    • Boaz Zemer Design portfolio
Re: A bug when importing solidworks model with sketch image on
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2014, 06:06:33 am »
You are correct, the new beta importer did the trick!
Though i'm Still getting an error with regular importing.

Thanks!