Author Topic: How to use step format files?  (Read 11949 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nj1983

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
How to use step format files?
« on: January 21, 2014, 07:31:15 am »
Hi I have just started using keyshot & I wanted to do this truck render which i came across in the keyshot gallery : https://grabcad.com/library/idsa-rendering-challenge-rat-rod
 but the model which i downloaded was in STEP format.
How can I convert this STEP format to OBJ file and import it in my keyshot scene bcos right now i am not able to import it.
I downloaded this truck model from the cad site : https://grabcad.com/
Could any1 pls help me out as Im stuck and am not able to proceed due to this issue.

Thank you
- Nj

Offline br3ttj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2014, 08:00:05 am »
Cool, that's available as a STEP?!  I'm pretty sure I have the ability to convert it to .obj through ProE. I could possibly convert it this evening.

Offline nj1983

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2014, 08:42:03 am »
Yes, I downloaded it from this link :
https://grabcad.com/library/idsa-rendering-challenge-rat-rod
You need to be logged in as a user to download it.
Could you pls check that step file & convert it and mail it to me if possible? Also pls do tell me how to do it so that in future if I download any step files I can also convert them.

Offline nj1983

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2014, 08:56:42 am »
I also tried to open it and view in ABviewer but its heavy and is taking too long..

Offline br3ttj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2014, 11:14:13 am »
I checked your links on GrabCad and the file they have there is a KeyShot .bip file, not a .STEP file.   You should be able to open the .bip file with KeyShot and start rendering to your heart's content.  I don't see any .STEP files at this link.

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2014, 11:20:15 am »
And what is the problem with importing a STEP file into KeyShot?

Offline TpwUK

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2910
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2014, 03:32:41 pm »
nj1983 - STEP files need to be converted to meshes before they are rendered by KeyShot.  Are you actually getting errors during the STEP import or are you just being impatient thinking that KeyShot has failed when in reality it's still working on the mesh data ?

I have done scenes before with KeyShot that have taken over 40mins to import, and then take just 15 minutes to render.

Martin

Offline nj1983

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2014, 06:50:46 pm »
Ya sure br3ttj ill try downloading the bip file also n check & also thanks 2every body al for ur help & suggestions ill try importing again and if any issue comes ill let u know..
« Last Edit: January 21, 2014, 06:54:25 pm by nj1983 »

Offline nj1983

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2014, 06:56:39 pm »
Hi Martin, yes keyshot is taking quite long to import it.. it culd mostly be that i thought it hung up..like  u said if it took over 40mins to import in ur file, yes i think it does take time to import.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2014, 07:11:55 pm by nj1983 »

Offline br3ttj

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 236
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2014, 10:59:13 am »
nj1983,

Just checking to see if you truly were able to download a STEP copy of the rat-rod database.  I'd be happy to convert it for you to get a STEP copy myself.  However, when I checked at GrabCAD they only had a KeyShot .bip file.

Offline TpwUK

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2910
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2014, 06:07:22 pm »
You are correct in that there is only a compressed BIP file there on GC, I have a vehicle model on there that offers multiple formats , and I have just posted the STEP file there too. There is no interior, but there are other car models on there with interiors. You can find my model here https://grabcad.com/library/lamborghini-reventon-2008 be aware that it unpacks to over 350Mbytes

Martin

Offline nj1983

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: How to use step format files?
« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2014, 02:17:09 am »
Thanks for al ur help guys, it worked I  took the bip file and proceeded..