Author Topic: Does Keyshot have a Wireframe material?  (Read 15438 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline killswitch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Does Keyshot have a Wireframe material?
« on: September 17, 2013, 01:34:37 pm »
I can't seem to find any samples of the Keyshot's wireframe material on the internet. Maybe because most people have not played around with it as much? Or maybe I am not looking at the right places. :/ Someone told me it does not support quads or something and only renders tris. I dont know if that's true. Anyone had the chance to play around with KS wireframe material ?

Offline TpwUK

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2910
Re: Does Keyshot have a Wireframe material?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 05:40:38 pm »
It has two wireframe materials, one of which is transparent and both are found in miscellaneous

Offline killswitch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Does Keyshot have a Wireframe material?
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 06:36:40 pm »
Thanks TpwUK. I did find them just now. I was hoping it would show object's wires in quads, instead of tris :( Keyshot is such an unbelievably awesome render engine, a quad wire would have been wonderful, so we could show our models wires as well as full renders. Great for demo reels. Someone from the KS team please say you will have a quad wire material out soon :( :( :( It looks like I will have to resort to Maya to get my wires, and I wanted to avoid Maya for rendering. Zbrush to KS workflow pipeline is a breeze, and fantastic to move between.

Offline LucasAM77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Does Keyshot have a Wireframe material?
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2016, 05:57:35 am »
An alternative option: In your 3D Package take a "UV Snapshot" of your UV's > Open this UV Snapshot in Photoshop > Command/Control I to invert the UV snapshot > Save as a TGA > Load the TGA into the "Material Tab > Textures Tab > Color" Node.

*Remember to use "Type: UV Coordinates"*

This should load the Snapshot of your UV's onto your model:

*ProTip: Magic Wand > Tolerance 50 > Select all the white in your newly formed TGA > Select Inverse > Layer Via Copy > Add FX layer "Stroke" of 1 or 2 pixels. This will thicken up the black "UV net" of your wireframe*
« Last Edit: September 07, 2016, 06:44:25 am by LucasAM77 »