Author Topic: Solidworks 2013  (Read 22418 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #15 on: January 30, 2013, 12:28:03 pm »
The plugin works today. It puts a button into SolidWorks, allowing you to transfer your data from SolidWorks directly into KeyShot.

Offline andrea.negri

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #16 on: January 31, 2013, 05:35:46 am »
Thank you so much Thomas! It works perfectly!  :D

Offline keaneray

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2013, 07:47:52 pm »
Still having the same problem importing some SW13 files into Keyshot 3.3. Hopefully KS4 is out soon and will rectify.


guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2013, 06:48:20 am »
Can you share this model and I will take a look? Send to me, please: [email protected]

I will need the entire assembly with all the parts.

Thanks, Thomas

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2013, 05:21:06 pm »
Thanks for sending. Looks good in KeyShot 4. In the meantime, you may want to try the plugin to get the assembly directly from SW in to KeyShot.

Offline p3ngu1n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #20 on: September 30, 2013, 11:47:32 am »
Hi Everyone,

I apologize if this question has already been answered somewhat but I'm having the same issues as the original poster, however, I'm currently using the latest version of keyshot 4 in conjunction with solidworks 2013. Importing with tesselation is not an option for many of my projects because, for some reason, tessellation in keyshot 4 will add unwanted surfaces and distort surface geometry on surfaces with continuous curvature.

My only current work around is to use the plugin for solidworks, however it's not ideal for workflow since it creates a separate file which I then need to import into my scene again and reassign all materials.

I've included some screen shots of what I'm experiencing.

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #21 on: September 30, 2013, 12:39:12 pm »
Don't understand what you mean by "separate file". The plugin doesn't create a separate file that needs to be imported or managed.

Offline p3ngu1n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #22 on: September 30, 2013, 01:15:34 pm »
It creates a new .bip file on export, doesn't it?

thomasteger

  • Guest
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #23 on: September 30, 2013, 03:13:37 pm »
Only if you select "export". If you select "render" then it will transfer the geometry in session directly into KeyShot by opening the application upon transfer.

Offline p3ngu1n

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Solidworks 2013
« Reply #24 on: October 01, 2013, 11:20:42 am »
Thanks for the clarification but my core issue still stands. Is there any foreseeable fix for the "does not contain 3d geometry" error? This has been an ongoing issue for the better part of a year now and creates a small but quite disruptive kink in my (and I imagine others') work flow.