Author Topic: Importing large .wire files  (Read 4864 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline johnbridgedesign

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Importing large .wire files
« on: November 07, 2012, 05:19:50 am »
Firstly im using Keyshot 3.3 64bit on a dell precision m6500 workstation.

My problem is i have finished designing a motorcycle and the file is around 200MB. I tried to import it into Keyshot and the loading bar indicator doesnt move. I left it overnight and still nothing so i presumed it crashed due to the file size.

Therefore i split the files up into various components (around 7-20MB each) and started to import them individually. This worked for around 3-4 components and then upon trying to import the next it once again seems to crash and nothing happens.

Any idea as to why this could be?

Thanks,

John

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Importing large .wire files
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2012, 06:53:11 am »
How much memory do you have? And what value is the tessellation set to?

Offline johnbridgedesign

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Importing large .wire files
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2012, 07:36:39 am »
I have 16GB RAM,
Tessellation is set to 1

Thanks

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Importing large .wire files
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2012, 07:40:03 am »
That is why it takes so long. Try the default setting at 0.2 and see what you get.

Offline johnbridgedesign

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Importing large .wire files
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2012, 08:20:42 am »
Thank you Thomas,
as soon as you asked what my tessellation settings were i figured it may be that.
Such an easy solution, once again thanks.

John

Offline RocketNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Importing large .wire files
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2012, 09:14:01 am »
I have a 2G file I've been tring to load with out success. I get the importing file popup then the loading meter keeps going from 0% to 100% repeatedly. Then after a while the popup changes to SET UP and again the process meter goes from 0% to 100% repeatedly.  I know what problem (file to large) is so I have stop trying to load the model. 
« Last Edit: November 07, 2012, 09:18:41 am by RocketNut »

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Importing large .wire files
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2012, 11:30:11 am »
I bet it will load. It just takes time.