Author Topic: Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?  (Read 6177 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Kinetic Vision

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?
« on: October 17, 2012, 02:09:20 pm »
Why do my SolidWorks assemblies import with a KeyShot scale set to 0.0399?
Thanks.

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 07:00:08 am »
This scale factor varies upon the size of the assembly. It is a factor that is applied in order to properly fit the assembly inside the KeyShot scene. We expose this so you can match the scale of different objects in case there is a mismatch.

Offline hansoej

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2012, 02:38:48 pm »
so how do you match the scale of previously saved scenes? I import large part assemblies from Rhino, but if I try to add something a few days later, the scale of the newly imported parts is way off. Thanks

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2012, 03:39:53 pm »
Look at the saved scale value of the original import, and then enter the same scale value for the newly imported part. Also make sure that "From Previous" in the Coordinates section is checked upon import.

Offline PhilippeV8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1914
    • PV8-Portfolio
Re: Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2012, 01:21:21 am »
Yeah I've wondered about this ... what does "from previous" actualy do ?  Cuz if you work on something else in between, does the "from previous" still work ?

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2012, 03:08:03 pm »
Yes it does. "From Previous" means it is taking the size and scale of the previously imported model in the scene into consideration.

Offline PhilippeV8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1914
    • PV8-Portfolio
Re: Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2012, 11:13:47 pm »
Ah, so it's linked to a value baked in the opened bip after its first import.  Now I get it :)

Offline fario

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 821
  • www.mrconcepts.ch - industrial design and render
    • industrial design
Re: Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2012, 02:58:28 am »
If you leave Keyshot, and restart Keyshot, there will be a scaling problem to import.

this problem on work sessions in Keyshot has already been mentioned in a topic.

I hope this problem will be solved in V.4

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: Why does KeyShot 3.3.33 scale SolidWorks CAD data upon import?
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2012, 07:03:50 am »
There shouldn't be. I tested this extensively yesterday. Please provide an example where you see it failing.