Author Topic: Autocad import  (Read 4072 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline greendamo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Autocad import
« on: March 15, 2012, 07:13:13 am »
Hi
Can any1 tell me how to get a good import of a solid model in to keyshot? I keep getting facet edges on a coin shaped model. I have tried everything to my knowledge ie the command FACETRES in ACAD set to 10 but keep getting poor results!
I am using AutoCad 2012.

Thanks in advance

Offline KeyShot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1126
Re: Autocad import
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 10:31:01 am »
We do support DWG import directly in KeyShot. You should be able to load your AutoCAD models directly.
Alternatively, KeyShot can import many formats such as step and iges that you can output from AutoCAD as well.

Offline B_Rich

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Autocad import
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2012, 10:03:44 pm »
We do support DWG import directly in KeyShot. You should be able to load your AutoCAD models directly.
Alternatively, KeyShot can import many formats such as step and iges that you can output from AutoCAD as well.

Is there a way to change the quality of the edges though?  I have kind of a severe case of this with my latest project:







I'm pointing out the cone of the speaker (the yellow part) and the phase plug (the black part in the middle of the cone).

I'd appreciate any info that anyone had.

Offline B_Rich

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Autocad import
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2012, 01:32:28 am »
I just ended up importing with Inventor instead of AutoCAD.  Turns out I didn't need to export from Inventor to AutoCAD, and then Keyshot.