Author Topic: Wireframe being displayed using curvature node  (Read 1264 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline arsmod

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Wireframe being displayed using curvature node
« on: August 23, 2019, 08:46:52 pm »
The wireframe is displayed when using the curvature node. Is this expected? If not, can I get rid of it?
« Last Edit: September 02, 2019, 05:52:31 am by arsmod »

Offline Ryan Day

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Industrial Designer and co-founder of ANCORD
    • ANCORD Design Co
Re: Wireframe being displayed using curvature node
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2019, 11:39:48 am »
Does the model render as a smooth surface with a different material on it? Right now it looks faceted as if it is "flat shaded" instead of smooth shaded, which points to an issue with the normals set up. If that is indeed the case, the curvature node is just calculating the angle difference between the facets, rather than the "normal" curvature of the surface as a whole because the normals are not set up properly.

If it does render smooth with other materials, then I'm not sure what the issue would be.

Offline RRIS

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Renze Rispens - industrial designer
Re: Wireframe being displayed using curvature node
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2019, 01:43:38 am »
I tend to get unsmoothed geometry when I import STL files. It's not always noticeable until you put a very reflective material on it. A long shot, but that might be what's happening here?

Offline mattjgerard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1523
Re: Wireframe being displayed using curvature node
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2019, 07:17:22 am »
Recalculate the normals with the Edit Geometry tool. That usually gets rid of the faceting and applies the proper phong shading (Cinema4d speak)

Offline arsmod

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Wireframe being displayed using curvature node
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2019, 03:30:14 pm »
Thanks for the response guys. This model came into Keyshot via the ZBrush to Keyshot bridge. I'll try your suggestions tonight and let you know. Thanks a lot!