Author Topic: First time using the config...  (Read 132 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mattjgerard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
First time using the config...
« on: August 08, 2019, 01:25:26 pm »
But not as a configurator- Was given the task of updating our lighting products to full color images, not just of the units in the off state, which is how we have done it to cut down on the number of images to manage. Just one product line has thousands of configurations due to length, clear or diffused, color, switch options, connection options, IP ratings, etc.

So, we whittled down what we wanted to show, and I was able to stumble my way through the wizard and I set up a single length with 6 color options, 2 window option and 3 camera views. I sorted them all in the material way pane, and it ended up kicking out all the images for that set (36 images) without having to load them into the queue and only setting studios for the 3 cameras (since I had matching environments for each camera).

I've never had to work with the configurator before because our website won't allow it (we use Adobe AEM). But this is a huge step forward to being able to manage the creating of entire product categories and options and just render out the stills for our DAM. Now if I could only get KS to move to a token-based naming system so I can pick how I want the files named, I'd be in heaven!

Offline Furniture_Guy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • Virco Educational Furniture
Re: First time using the config...
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2019, 07:54:39 am »
Matt,

We have produced over 100,000 images for our site and after much trial and error we do the file renaming by setting up a text file with the conversion done in 'A Better Finder Rename' under 'Advanced & Special' and 'Rename from file list'. If you output a group of files (using multi material) leaving the name field completely blank, it labels them with:

.1
.2
.3
.4
.5
.6   
.7
.8
.9
.10

Then the text file reads:

.1   BLK01
.2   BLU14
.3   BLU40
.4   BLU44
.5   BLU45
.6   BLU51   
.7   BLU65
.8   BRN14
.9   BRN42
.10   BRN55


So the variable to the right of the number is the specific color code of each multi material. Then we just add all the remaining data using the normal renaming functions in the program (add text to end or add text to beginning). This way our filenames matchup exactly to our SAP naming convention. I don't know if you could adapt this process to your situation but it seems to work for us.

Good Luck,
Perry

Offline mattjgerard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Re: First time using the config...
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2019, 06:50:36 am »
I really miss using a mac for production. But, we are all Windows, so I do use a small app called Bulk Renamer, which is essentially the same thing, its just clunkier and the UI was designed in 1987. Totally gets the job done, but not elegantly at all. I thin kI can setup a watch folder with certain parameters to auto rename stuff, but since this is only one project I'm not going to spend the time to figure that part out, I'll just do it in  batches by hand. But yeah, same theory applies!

Do you also use the config to show different materials? I'm still not totally confident in how it works, but setting up Multimaterials for the lenses and led colors seems to have made life easier. I still have to set up all the possible combinations in the colorway panel, but I'm not sure if I explicitly have to do that, or if there is another of of saying here's the led MM, here's the lens MM make every possible combination, go. Seems like I still have to map all that out.

Offline Furniture_Guy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • Virco Educational Furniture
Re: First time using the config...
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2019, 07:30:57 am »
No, we don't use it for showing different materials. We should, I think it would be a superb selling tool for our 60 or so regional sales reps but internal politics prevents us. Marketing management looks at our internal resources as a zero sum game and in some ways it is but I think the pendulum has swung too far in that direction.

Just an FYI, 'A Better Finder Rename' has a Windows version that I use named 'A Better File Rename'.

Please keep up the great postings! Yours always seem very relevant and insightful and strike just the right balance between novice and the commanding expert that you are...

Perry


Offline mattjgerard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Re: First time using the config...
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2019, 11:54:31 am »
No, we don't use it for showing different materials. We should, I think it would be a superb selling tool for our 60 or so regional sales reps but internal politics prevents us. Marketing management looks at our internal resources as a zero sum game and in some ways it is but I think the pendulum has swung too far in that direction.

Just an FYI, 'A Better Finder Rename' has a Windows version that I use named 'A Better File Rename'.

Please keep up the great postings! Yours always seem very relevant and insightful and strike just the right balance between novice and the commanding expert that you are...

Perry

Ooooo, that is a must have, if it works 75% as well as the Mac version I'll be all over that!

And thank you for the kind words. Sometimes I feel that the mid level worker bees get a little lost in the shuffle and get drowned out by the insanely good renders here, and the new folks that have simple questions. I was the latter, but don't really have time to dedicate to be the former. Just trying to make my own day go a little faster and figure out new tips and tricks along the way. Its loads of fun, I feel very fortunate to have landed in this place. I spent a lot of years in the ditches in video production, and so its really nice to be able to work hard on getting a single frame looking good rather than 24 per second :) Cheers friend!