Author Topic: Environment Size Changes when Updating Keyshot Instance  (Read 776 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Environment Size Changes when Updating Keyshot Instance
« on: July 10, 2019, 01:55:58 am »
Hi guys,
when I update an open Keyshot file to add geometry or else, the environment size changes by itself. For instance, I set my environment to 900mm size, after updating geometry it changed to 1500mm big.
I know that Keyshot is actually adjusting the hdri size to fit every piece of 3D geometry in it. It is useful for a new project opening, but it becomes particularly annoying when you update frequently, and have to re-enter the value you want every time.

A little padlock to lock the environment size could do the trick in the next version.
Thanks for reading,
Sven

(Win10 - Rhino 6 - KeyShot 8.2)
« Last Edit: August 22, 2019, 04:17:30 pm by Bruno F »

Offline MWo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
  • Senior Technical Consultant @ INNEO (Germany)
    • german KeyShot page from INNEO Solutions
Re: Environment Size Changes when Updating Keyshot Instance
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2019, 01:26:35 pm »
I guess this depends on your import options. Just look trough the options and toggle off the environment scale feature.


Cheers
Marco

Offline Francisco

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 49
Re: Environment Size Changes when Updating Keyshot Instance
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2019, 03:50:27 pm »
Hello Sven,

Would you be able to share the KeyShot file and your other model that's imported? I would like to see how they are making your environment bigger? I was testing this on my end with some models and I opened one that is 130 mm in size and imported another model that is 500 mm big yet my environment had stayed the same size. To make the bigger model fit I had to readjust the size of my self so that the new model fits within the environment because the bigger model was sticking out.

I would like to test out the models you have and also if you don't mind would you be able to send me a screenshot of your import settings to [email protected]?

Hi guys,
when I update an open Keyshot file to add geometry or else, the environment size changes by itself. For instance, I set my environment to 900mm size, after updating geometry it changed to 1500mm big.
I know that Keyshot is actually adjusting the hdri size to fit every piece of 3D geometry in it. It is useful for a new project opening, but it becomes particularly annoying when you update frequently, and have to re-enter the value you want every time.

A little padlock to lock the environment size could do the trick in the next version.
Thanks for reading,
Sven

(Win10 - Rhino 6 - KeyShot 8.2)