Author Topic: Problem with alembic file  (Read 1388 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline designgestalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Problem with alembic file
« on: February 22, 2019, 10:54:40 am »
hello everybody,
this was my first try to work with an alembic file, but I cannot import the file into KS!

I work with KS 8.2.80
the Alembic file was created in Blender 2.80

when import the data I recive the attached message...
I scanned through the forum and tried different setups in Blender so far, but did not succeed.
anyone an idea ??
 cheers
designgestalt
« Last Edit: February 22, 2019, 11:17:51 am by designgestalt »

Offline designgestalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2019, 10:40:09 am »
anyone ??
I know there are a lot of people working with Blender and Alembic file.
How do you convert your files from Blender to KS ?
I have scanned through the forum and checked all the obvious flaws, but that did not cover my problem so far ...
any help welcome ...
cheers
designgestalt

Offline MWo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
  • Senior Technical Consultant @ INNEO (Germany)
    • german KeyShot page from INNEO Solutions
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2019, 12:31:43 pm »
Hey Desighgestalt.

Today I‘ve read in the documentation (section: limitations and knows issues) that there’s a difference if you installed KeyShot for everyone (KS resources in public documents) or for you (user documents). But I didn’t tested it right now.
Perhaps you can share a simple example to reproduce the issue?

Hope that helps to find the right track.

Cheers / herzliche Grüße
Marco

Offline designgestalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2019, 02:31:54 pm »
hey Marco,
thanks for the feedback...!
Sure, I will send you a file tomorrow !
I assume, this is nothing, that I can change on the installation.
Would I have to re-install KS than?
cheers
designgestalt

Online Eric Summers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • CAD Specialist II, Water Pik, Inc.
    • WaterPik Home
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2019, 02:36:38 pm »
I believe I had a similar issue some time back, but with a 3DS Max file. There were two formats for the export: HDF5 and Ogawa. It turned out that only Ogawa would work. HDF5 would result it the error message you're getting if I remember correctly.

Not sure if Blender has similar options, but I thought I'd mention it.

Offline MWo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
  • Senior Technical Consultant @ INNEO (Germany)
    • german KeyShot page from INNEO Solutions
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2019, 09:42:28 pm »
Moin.

Yes, in this case I would un-install KeyShot. All your settings are left in the public documents folder. After re-install KeyShot with the “only for me” option, you can copy the ks8settings.xml from the other path - before starting KeyShot. Then it should act as regular.

Hope that opens the alembic file.

You can also send me the file (contact in my profile).

Cheers
Marco

Offline designgestalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2019, 01:55:34 am »
thanks Eric,
I am at the very begining with Blender, after the new version with the new UI I thought I give it another try.
But as far as I can tell, I do not have the option to change the format.
to my knowledge Blender uses Ogawa and this replaced HDF5, but I could well be wrong...

funny sidenote:
I tried a fluid simulation the other day and all the alembic files I created (5 different files) always brought up this message.
yesterday I tried a softbody animation, which I, just out of curiosity, tried to import to KS this morning and that worked without a problem... ???
I have to investigate further ...
cheers
designgestalt

Offline designgestalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2019, 02:06:03 am »
Moin.

Yes, in this case I would un-install KeyShot. All your settings are left in the public documents folder. After re-install KeyShot with the “only for me” option, you can copy the ks8settings.xml from the other path - before starting KeyShot. Then it should act as regular.

Hope that opens the alembic file.

You can also send me the file (contact in my profile).

Cheers
Marco

hey Marco,
I send you a PM...
I am hesitating to re-install KS, honestly.
I spend an unbelievable amount of hours from KS6 to KS7 to "repair" all my old files, that lost all their references.
the move from KS7 to KS8 was MUCH better, but not flawless !
there was a lot of discussion about  this also on the forum (i.e. link materials to files, like Adobe Illustrator does etc.), you might remember.
when I change now from all users (which I actually need, as I am not the only user in the office!) to single user, I assume, that all the files will loose their references again, as the library will move to my default path (unless I copy the material library to the common folder ?!?)
nonetheless, this sounds a bit risky to me at the current stage.
I would highly appreciate, if you could try and see if your KS "digests" my Alembic file !
as you might have read, I had some small success already and might be able to solve this without a re-installation...

thanks a bunch !!
cheers
designgestalt

Offline Vini.longo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2019, 05:29:00 am »
Hi all,

Same problem here, but with an Alembic file from Cinema 4D.
We still had Keyshot 7 installed here and it imported the Alembic with no problems.

To solve this issue we saved an .bip file from KS7 and imported it on KS8.

Thanks!

Offline MWo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
  • Senior Technical Consultant @ INNEO (Germany)
    • german KeyShot page from INNEO Solutions
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2019, 07:11:28 am »
So I verified the issue of the alembic file. As in the documentation mentioned, an "for everyone" installation (KeyShot resources in public documents) create this issue and an "only for me" installation not.

@designgestalt:
I will answer your PM.

Cheers
Marco

Offline designgestalt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2019, 10:17:35 am »
I can confirm that it works to open the alembic files in KS7, but in 8 out of 10 cases KS crashes, when I try to save a .bip file !
so no real progress here ...

cheers
designgestalt
« Last Edit: March 04, 2019, 12:47:23 pm by designgestalt »

Offline ROS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • INNEO Solutions GmbH
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2019, 04:31:30 am »
Hey Marco,

i tried to import an alembic file and recieved error code7.
Then i reinstalled KeyShot with only for me and it works.

Thanks a lot ;)

Offline brahmzxc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2019, 12:45:18 pm »
Hey, i was just curious that if we export an .obj file from keyshot and then can we simulate or rig it in blender ?
and if yes then can we export .almbec file from blender and then import the animation in keyshot?

Offline Eugen Fetsch

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • www.camomiles.de
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2019, 01:13:03 am »
Hey, i was just curious that if we export an .obj file from keyshot and then can we simulate or rig it in blender ?
and if yes then can we export .almbec file from blender and then import the animation in keyshot?

You can do that for sure - this is our main workflow for KS. Just be aware that Blender OBJ importer is not multithreaded. High poly objects will take a while to import with one core. During import it looks like Blender freezes, but it is still working, just be patient.

Example: To animate a car or a truck we use basic shapes to rig and animate in Blender (attached image). Then we import them through Alembic into KS and group the high poly objects to the imported shapes. 

Offline Eugen Fetsch

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
    • www.camomiles.de
Re: Problem with alembic file
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2019, 01:15:26 am »
P.S.: This workflow is also very handy for advanced camera animations. Camera twist is not available in KS - do it in Blender and import it to KS.