Author Topic: Scene sets gone in Keyshot 8? Please help  (Read 1228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline iamlukaszajic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Scene sets gone in Keyshot 8? Please help
« on: January 16, 2019, 02:53:11 am »
Hi guys,
I'm pretty new to Keyshot so I might me missing something but I'm getting really crazy about one issue. Please help!

I need to render many different magazine models at once. Closed, open, landscape, portrait etc. (different models) in multiple angles/cameras with multi-materials (glossy/matte paper). Regarding the tutorial videos I think I need scene sets to get what I want but I can't find anything like this in Keyshot 8 Pro. There are only model sets but no scene sets. Am I missing something?

Or could you recommend different way how to set up the scene so I can render everything at once?

I have 5 different models, each in different model set
I have 6 different cameras, each in studio with environment
I have 1 multi-material with 2 versions - glossy and matte paper

What I need are combinations of all above, should be 70 renders in total - each model captured by each camera in both glossy and matte material version.

Thanks a lot, I spent like 8 hours watching videos and all I get is that scene sets are perfect for this but can't find it in my Keyshot.

Online Eric Summers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • CAD Specialist II, Water Pik, Inc.
    • WaterPik Home
Re: Scene sets gone in Keyshot 8? Please help
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2019, 06:38:08 am »
Scene sets were replaced by Studios in KeyShot 7. Studios will do exactly what you are looking for and are more flexible than scene sets were. Here is the video on Studios: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxVLoZ4yW6s Hope that helps!

Offline mattjgerard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1494
Re: Scene sets gone in Keyshot 8? Please help
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2019, 06:46:11 am »
Yes, you are correct. This situation is exactly what studios were built for. You should have them, probably just hidden somewhere. Just go to WINDOW->STUDIO or hit U key on the keyboard, that should bring up the studio pane. Here is the link to the manual article

https://luxion.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/K8M/pages/314835114/Studios

From there since you already have most of the work done, you just create a studio for each image you want to render out, and assign the camera, environment, image style, model set and multimaterial in the studio pane. Then in the render window you can add all of them to the render queue all in one go. Just be sure to have all the render settings/render locations set before you add them to the render queue.

There may be a way to get all your images rendered with fewer steps using the configurator, but I'm not very familiar with it so I'm not sure how to set that up, but that might be an option as well.

Online Eric Summers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • CAD Specialist II, Water Pik, Inc.
    • WaterPik Home
Re: Scene sets gone in Keyshot 8? Please help
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2019, 07:13:30 am »
Something that Matt's reply reminded me of: make sure if you queue up all of your renders at once that you have sufficient space on the target drive. If there isn't enough space to save all of the renders, KeyShot will stop processing your queue and kick the remaining jobs.

Offline DMerz III

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 824
  • David Merz the Third
    • MerzTheThird
Re: Scene sets gone in Keyshot 8? Please help
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2019, 07:36:33 am »
Yes!

Studios > Scene Sets  8)

Offline mattjgerard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1494
Re: Scene sets gone in Keyshot 8? Please help
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2019, 08:39:20 am »
Something that Matt's reply reminded me of: make sure if you queue up all of your renders at once that you have sufficient space on the target drive. If there isn't enough space to save all of the renders, KeyShot will stop processing your queue and kick the remaining jobs.

Sounds like you learned that the hard way didn't you?  ???

Online Eric Summers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
  • CAD Specialist II, Water Pik, Inc.
    • WaterPik Home
Re: Scene sets gone in Keyshot 8? Please help
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2019, 09:53:06 am »
Something that Matt's reply reminded me of: make sure if you queue up all of your renders at once that you have sufficient space on the target drive. If there isn't enough space to save all of the renders, KeyShot will stop processing your queue and kick the remaining jobs.

Sounds like you learned that the hard way didn't you?  ???

Not exactly. I contacted support about my render queue issue a while ago and Niko told me that was one of the things to watch for. It didn't help me, but I figured I'd pass along the info I learned. Maybe it'll save someone else some frustration.