Author Topic: Upgragde to Keyshot 8 use Keyshot 7 at the same time  (Read 496 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Upgragde to Keyshot 8 use Keyshot 7 at the same time
« on: October 16, 2018, 04:04:54 am »
Hi!
I have a question about the Keyshot 8 upgrade.
I have Keyshot 7 pro and I want to upgrade to Keyshot 8 but I'm in the middle of a project and I would like to use Keyshot 7 still.
Is it possible to use 7 and 8 at the same time with the same licence? I need this because I need the same render result if I have to rerender something from a different angle for example.

Thanks,
Mz

Offline MWo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 806
  • Senior Technical Consultant @ INNEO (Germany)
    • german KeyShot page from INNEO Solutions
Re: Upgragde to Keyshot 8 use Keyshot 7 at the same time
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2018, 10:46:24 am »
Yes it is.
Just one thing comes up. Opening a bip file with double click will opens KeyShot 8.
So you have to start KeyShot 7 and then open the bip file.


Hope that helps!


Cheers
Marco

Offline DMerz III

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 813
  • David Merz the Third
    • MerzTheThird
Re: Upgragde to Keyshot 8 use Keyshot 7 at the same time
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2018, 04:24:53 pm »
 :) If you are using Windows.

A workaround I used while Beta testing was to have a 2nd user profile on my machine, I installed KS8 on that user, but didn't allow it to be available for all users. When I wanted to use KS8 specifically, I would use that profile. If I wanted to use 7, I logged into the other profile.

Not the most elegant, but it did a good job of keeping them separated (very key when beta testing).