Author Topic: [RESOLVED] Alembic export - from Cinema4d/Realflow to Keyshot7  (Read 1154 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline trappistmonk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Hey guys  :)

I have an issue that i could not solve.
I created a really basic Realflow scene in Cinema4D. I cached the simulation and the mesh and the export it.
I have this message "error code 7 : Your file does not contain 3D geometry..." when i try to import in KS.
I can see all my baked frames in the cinema4d cache folder. I can import frame by frame and see the mesh but impossible with the sequence...

Is there anyone with a solution ?
Thank you!
« Last Edit: May 02, 2019, 01:46:09 pm by Ian Reymond »

Offline mattjgerard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Re: Alembic export - from Cinema4d/Realflow to Keyshot7
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2018, 01:58:09 pm »
I'm not sure if PLA is exported via Alembic in C4D, that's a good question. Is the mesh being animated via PLA or otherwise?

does the sim play in the C4D timeline?

what are the settings in your Alembic export box?

Offline trappistmonk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Alembic export - from Cinema4d/Realflow to Keyshot7
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2018, 02:29:10 pm »
Finally found a solution on CGTalk... maybe it will help someone else !
1) Cache your simulation
2) Select the MESHERS folder
3) In the export settings,  check "Selection Only" and "Merge Generated".

Keyshot should open your ABC file. It worked for me.
++

Offline mattjgerard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1473
Re: Alembic export - from Cinema4d/Realflow to Keyshot7
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2018, 06:58:37 am »
Excellent! I played with realflow a while ago, and it was fun to try but I had no practical use for it in the work I was doing. Glad you got it figured out and even gladder (?) that you posted your solution for others to find.

cheers!

Offline PeterSwift

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re: Alembic export - from Cinema4d/Realflow to Keyshot7
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2018, 03:42:41 am »
Must be an export issue, maybe you baked in the wrong way. I'm not super experienced with C4D but It works fine for me. I just another plugin in C4D though. HOT4D.

Offline Cynthia23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Alembic export - from Cinema4d/Realflow to Keyshot7
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2019, 01:05:31 am »
An excellent suggestion! psiphon
« Last Edit: February 03, 2019, 08:33:15 pm by Cynthia23 »