Author Topic: Network Render Error  (Read 1821 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DeekosRSV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Network Render Error
« on: October 03, 2017, 08:33:49 am »
Hi guys, we've just bought 2 Workstation Specialists render boxes and all setup and working nicely.  If I render using ONE REGION option, it renders on one of the boxes (32 cores) and all is good.
If I render using REGIONS it uses both the boxes (64 cores) and powers through the image BUT fails every time it tries to stitch the regions together!! :(  Any ideas??
Obviously i need this to work as whats the point of just using half the horsepower...

Ian

Offline DMerz III

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 825
  • David Merz the Third
    • MerzTheThird
Re: Network Render Error
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2017, 12:10:01 pm »
That's a total bummer. Have not had this issue with the 6 Boxx machines we have linked.
I am curious though, do you have all of your cores on each machine set to be workers?

One thing I have found to be helpful is to choke back the # of cores available as a worker in order to give the machine some breathing room when it is operating tasks such as 'transferring job' or 'stitching'. I don't know if it is actually helping, but we have had more success and less failures once we implemented that.

For example;

Boxx 1 (Designated as Manager) 20 out of 24 cores available as worker
Boxx 2 (Worker only) 22 out of 24 cores available as worker
Boxx 3 (Worker Only) 18 out of 20 cores available as worker

etc etc









Offline DeekosRSV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Network Render Error
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2017, 05:13:21 am »
Well it's resolved.  Have been sent a Keyshot and NW Render update that are working nicely.

Hardware
Laptop - Dell 5510 with i7-6820HQ @ 2.7GHz (8 threads)
Render Box - Workstation Specialist RS-D2220 with Dual Xeon E5-2620v4 @ 2.1GHz (32 threads)

Speedtest
Laptop -  3840x2983 @ 73 samples in 2hr
Render box (x2) 3840x2983 @ 100 samples in 23m :) using all 64 threads

Not bad :)