Author Topic: Squares in the rendering  (Read 1213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mutte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Squares in the rendering
« on: September 07, 2017, 08:17:02 am »
Hi,

This is a 4.5mil polygon model from Zbrush, what's the cause of these errors?
Look at the big shapes on the side of the head.

anyone...thanks!

Offline Esben Oxholm

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
  • esbenoxholm.dk/keyshot-video-course
    • Freelance CG Artist
Re: Squares in the rendering
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 08:21:26 am »
Hi.

Are you using a translucent material? If so, try increasing the material samples. Solved an issue I had looking similar to this.

Offline mutte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Squares in the rendering
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 11:02:31 am »
Hi Esben, this seems to be working!!! thanks!

Offline Esben Oxholm

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
  • esbenoxholm.dk/keyshot-video-course
    • Freelance CG Artist
Re: Squares in the rendering
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2017, 11:38:49 am »
Hi Esben, this seems to be working!!! thanks!

Great! Glad to hear :)

Offline mutte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Squares in the rendering
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2017, 12:11:37 pm »
Nope, gotta take my words back it happen'd again. Strange on a other subdiv from Zbrush it doesn't happen.

Any other ideas.... Thanks

Same happens with a flat material....

« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 12:48:51 pm by mutte »

Offline Will Gibbons

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2505
  • Training Specialist at Luxion
    • KeyShot Training
Re: Squares in the rendering
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2017, 11:58:33 am »
I could be wrong, but try right-clicking and choosing 'edit geometry'. Then, choose 'edit normals'. Then with the mesh selected click 'calculate normals'. Save and close the geometry editor and see how it looks.

Offline mutte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Squares in the rendering
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2017, 01:27:29 am »
Hi will, I've tried it and it did not solve the problem

Offline mutte

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Squares in the rendering
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2017, 01:57:15 am »
Ok it has something to do with the topology and the sharpness of details, if I retop the head and tone the details down it gets better.
But it's still variable depending on the HDR map in the enviroment.....