Author Topic: When Importing a 3dm file, Keyshot opens a new file  (Read 3057 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jpits11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
When Importing a 3dm file, Keyshot opens a new file
« on: May 31, 2017, 07:06:39 pm »
Hi All,

I'm using Keyshot 6.3 and I'm having this issue. I have a Keyshot scene set up with environment and lights and I need to import files in this particular file in order to render consistently.

But when I import a 3dm file, it gets imported in a new Keyshot untitled file. But I need the original file to import more objects and render.

Is there any possibility of importing a 3dm element into the same Keyshot file?

Thanks

Offline MWo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 873
  • Senior Technical Consultant @ INNEO (Germany)
    • german KeyShot page from INNEO Solutions
Re: When Importing a 3dm file, Keyshot opens a new file
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2017, 09:54:21 pm »
Can you share a screen grab of your import dialog?

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: When Importing a 3dm file, Keyshot opens a new file
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2017, 06:35:30 am »
You are using the plugin I assume?

Offline jpits11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: When Importing a 3dm file, Keyshot opens a new file
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2017, 10:17:39 pm »
I ssume? no I'm not using any plugin. how can I find it?

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: When Importing a 3dm file, Keyshot opens a new file
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2017, 10:20:41 am »
This dialog shows the import of a new file. When you import another file into the scene, you will have the option to "add to scene".

Offline jpits11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: When Importing a 3dm file, Keyshot opens a new file
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2017, 07:16:48 pm »
Does it mean I must have an object into the scene to get that dialog>

guest84672

  • Guest
Re: When Importing a 3dm file, Keyshot opens a new file
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2017, 11:45:13 am »
If you already have an object in the scene then the dialog looks slightly different.

Offline jpits11

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: When Importing a 3dm file, Keyshot opens a new file
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2017, 04:39:50 pm »
Ohh I get it. So how can I do when importing from a script?