Author Topic: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.  (Read 4125 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline revel68

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« on: October 16, 2016, 04:30:33 pm »
I have 3dsmax 2014 64 fully updated.

I have tried installing using the EXE twice.  I have restarted 3dsmax. I'm not seeing any .bip or indication of Keyshot in any of the exporting.

Is there a way to hand-install this into 3dsmax?

Thanks!

Offline avp216

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2016, 03:46:58 am »
I am having the same issue at work.  The pc has 3ds Max 2017 and keyshot 5 installed.  I downloaded the keyshot 5 plugin and tried installing it.  Doesn't do anything.  No export, not nothing.

Hoping someone can provide help

Offline spassvogel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6289
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2016, 07:22:42 am »
We don't support 3ds Max 2017 yet.

As far as the installation goes:

"First he should check that the plugin is actually installed in the right place. He should have a BIPExportR20**.gup in his 3ds max plugins folder. (C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2017\Plugins)

If that is the case he should have the keyshot menu in max. If it is not shown he can add it through 'Customize->Customize User interface->Menus', where a 'KeyShot 6' menu item should be available in the 'Menus' list."

Offline avp216

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2016, 07:57:09 am »
ahhh, no 2017 support.  I should let my superior know!

When do you think support will roll out?

Thanks for the reply btw :)

Offline spassvogel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6289
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2016, 09:38:48 am »
I'm uploading it right now. Check back in about an hour.

Offline spassvogel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6289
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2016, 09:44:31 am »
Actually I just checked and even the 1.3.11 version has support for Max 2017. I just uploaded a new plugin, version 1.3.12. Let us know how this one works for you.

Offline avp216

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2016, 10:37:28 am »
The Keyshot version i have is 5, not 6.   I am downloading the Keyshot 5 3ds plugin and it doesn'T work :(

Offline spassvogel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6289
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2016, 11:16:26 am »
Ah - I missed that part. Time to upgrade to KeyShot 6!

Offline avp216

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2016, 11:23:12 am »
Haha, i informed my boss about a possible upgrade, but he said he would prefer to remain with Keyshot 5 for the moment.  Is there no hope for the older plugins?

If not, it is fine.  I have found some success with "pre-posing" the models in 3ds 2017 and exporting them as .obj files.  Doesn't always work though.  Sometimes, keyshot doesn't render shadows for such models.

Thanks for your time though :)

Offline spassvogel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6289
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2016, 11:43:58 am »
Not sure - I will need to check with development.

You may want to try FBX - seems to be the better format.

Offline avp216

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Plugin not showing up in 3dsmax.
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2016, 01:57:32 pm »
Yep!  .fbx works too!  Thank you kindly ^_^