Author Topic: Running KeyShot6 through command line (terminal)?  (Read 3288 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SebMorales

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Running KeyShot6 through command line (terminal)?
« on: April 03, 2016, 11:16:57 am »
Hi,
I am trying to do an animation where the geometry (mesh) is in constant transformation and would like to render it with KeyShot. The animation is done in Processing and I am able to export an obj into KeyShot but I can't figure out how to do anything else.

I tried following the instructions here (http://keyshot.com/scripting/doc/6.1/quickstart.html) without much success.

"3. Running KeyShot on the command-line: keyshot6.exe (optional file to open) -script <python script file> (optional script arguments..)"

I have a mac so what I was trying was actually:  ./keyshot6 -script/test.py inside the appropriate folder, keyshot opens but nothing else happens.
 
The only way I could get Keyshot to import a file was by forcing a file to open with keyshot (open -a keyshot6 name.obj), but this isn't very helpful when trying to render many frames.

Also, for some reason my "Scripting Console" option is grayed out , that is why I am trying form the command line.

Any help would be very appreciated!

Gracias :)

Offline Morten Kristensen

  • root
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 128
  • Software Engineer, Luxion
Re: Running KeyShot6 through command line (terminal)?
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2016, 12:28:46 pm »
Hello Seb,

You can only use scripting with a Pro license unfortunately, which i why it is greyed out.

If you had a Pro license then you can run via CLI like this:
/Applications/KeyShot6.app/Contents/MacOS/keyshot6 -script /path/to/your/script.py

Hope that helps :)

Offline SebMorales

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Running KeyShot6 through command line (terminal)?
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2016, 06:18:33 pm »
Ahhh.. I was afraid that would be the case having the edu license. Do you know if there is some kind of beta I could sign up for to get access to the scripting console?

Offline Morten Kristensen

  • root
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 128
  • Software Engineer, Luxion
Re: Running KeyShot6 through command line (terminal)?
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2016, 12:04:56 am »
Hello Seb,

Unfortunately we don't take in more testers right now due to the current phase of development.

Sorry