Author Topic: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing  (Read 14452 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline neroz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« on: March 11, 2016, 07:06:20 am »
Hello everyone,

I have major problem with using Keyshot 5 or 6. I spent two whole days trying to figure out what's going on and that's too much for me. Please, if it's possible, help me!
I'm trying to use keyshot, but after 10 second, keyshot freeze, even when I do not have a model. I can't click in the keyshot menu, but it is possible to move the keyshot windows. My CPU working at 100% or 0%, I keep the 2 configurations during 15 minutes, nothing change. My ram working about 400 MB.

My computer's parameters are as follows:
Microsoft Windows 10
Intel I7
16 GB of RAM memory

Please guys, help me before I'll get crazy...

Thank you.

Offline Chad Holton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1389
    • Portfolio
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2016, 07:15:18 am »
Hello - Try updating your graphics driver to the latest, that's the usual culprit.

Offline neroz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2016, 07:32:38 am »
Hello,

my graphic driver has the latest version :(

Offline TpwUK

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2910
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2016, 07:52:31 am »
Hi Neroz ... Other things that need checking or looking at;

1. Check your memory, memtest86 is freely available and will soon find errors if you have any. Some RAM errors do not show themselves on boot.
2. Check your systems fans, make sure they are clean and free from dust build-ups. Check your RAM too, dust can build between the DIMM Banks
3. If you have over-clocked your system, back it down a few Mhz and try KS again.
4. Whilst you have those 10 seconds or so, drop down how many cores/threads you are using. KS will max out your CPU's which can cause massive system lag on slower processors.

Martin

Offline neroz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2016, 08:11:47 am »
Hi, thank you for your response.

My computer has 2 weeks, so is clean.
My processor is fast this the reference : i7-6700HQ, 2.6Ghz. It don't have over-clocked my system.
This reference for my computer : https://us.msi.com/Workstation/WS60-Workstation-6th-Gen.html#hero-overview

Offline joseph

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2016, 08:27:52 pm »
Hi Neroz,
Can you give this a try: As far as I know on dual graphics notebook, you can set at the Nvidia app on system tray what applications you want to run by default with the nvidia gpu or integrated intel gpu. Please try to set KeyShot to run only with i7 integrated gpu. If it works fine, there is something with Nvidia gpu driver or setting  that cause it to freeze.

When KeyShot freezes, does it freeze the W10 environment also?

By the way, is KS a standalone or came bundle or ported through a MCAD solution. My version is KeyShot for IronCAD and when I installed the latest version of of the 2DSolidEdge Draft, it caused several problems like freezing and losing the license registry. A similar scenario. rgrds joseph
« Last Edit: March 11, 2016, 09:08:21 pm by joseph »

Offline neroz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2016, 02:28:17 pm »
@joseph

Thank you for your response
I desactivate my Nvidia GPU driver but the problem is always here
When Keyshot freezes, W10 does not freeze

Regards

Offline joseph

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2016, 05:59:38 pm »
I understand your frustration. Only thing that comes to mind is try to run KeyShot as administrator by right mouse click on KeyShot  shortcut and select run as administrator. Something is not allowing KeyShot to access the resources to cause it to freeze. Check Control Panel>All Control Panel Items>Windows Firewall>Allowed apps (or search firewall on the settings search)  if KeyShot versions is on the list with private and public boxes  tick.

I suggest that you try to load CCleaner free version from https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner. Just monitor the installation setting for app so you can tick only the feature/shortcut  essentials. This app won't load any crap/spyware. Run registry cleaner so you will see what other issues goes on your registry. Just select fix and it will give you an option to save a back up before the fix. I have applied the fix only from my end as long as I remember.

Offline neroz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2016, 08:39:57 am »
@joseph

I use CCleaner and I run keyshot as administrator. But the problem is still here :(

Offline Chad Holton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1389
    • Portfolio
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2016, 11:04:51 am »
Try disabling your antivirus software for a moment and test it out. Let us know if it helps or not.

Offline neroz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #10 on: March 14, 2016, 11:45:18 am »
@chad holdon
I disable my antivirus, but it doesn't work

Offline Chad Holton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1389
    • Portfolio
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2016, 02:28:13 pm »
Thanks for trying. It may be the graphics effects. Turn off "Graphics Effects" under Edit > Preferences > Advanced.  Then, click Save Changes.

If you are unable to access the Preferences menu, then you may also turn off this setting inside the XML file:

1. Open the Windows explorer and browse to your Documents folder
2. Find the KeyShot 6 folder and open it. Inside you will find keyshot6.xml
3. Right-click keyshot6.xml and select to Open with > Notepad
4. Go to Edit > Find
5. Type the following in the search bar: enable_gpu and click Next
6. In your document "enable_gpu" is highlighed. In the same line you will see the word "true". Erase "true" and substitute with "false" (Note: everything else on that line should remain as is)
7. Save your changes and close the file
8. Now go ahead open KeyShot.

Offline neroz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #12 on: March 15, 2016, 12:36:22 pm »
Thank you @chad holton,

I try your solution (the file modification) but this don't work.
Have you a other solution, I am disappointed...

Offline joseph

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2016, 07:15:20 pm »
What a tough nut to crack  :-[. This is very odd, I assume you are only having problem with KeyShot. What other resource or intensive programs that you have that works perfectly as it may help to illustrate the whole picture. Is there a MSI utility that governs the programs on top of windows? Chad have already asked about your antivirus, but sorry to ask again, is it bundled with a Norton 360?  Please raised this with MSI as it is a new notebook workstation as we try to figure it out in the meantime as it seems local to your hardware.

I also have an older MSI FX720 dual graphics i5 with NVGT520M and my quirk is with W10 boot sequence after the update. But everything else work.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2016, 03:57:04 am by joseph »

Offline neroz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Keyshot 5 or 6 screen freezing
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2016, 07:30:19 am »
You are right, my problem is very strange.
I installed Vmware and Windows and keyshot. it is working, but is not optimise

I have many program with big ressource as Solidworks.
I don't have Norton 360, I have Avast.