Author Topic: Update sketchup model ???  (Read 4816 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline a.simonas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Update sketchup model ???
« on: November 17, 2015, 12:05:33 pm »
Hi everyone, can not find any topic about Sketchup export plugin for Keyshot regarding model update after export. I mean exporting my model into Keyshot is there any way to update keyshot if I make any changes in Sketchup? So far I see export option only. This means that each time I make small changes I have to export sketchup model into new Keyshot scene, create cameras, materials, lights etc... ?

Offline TpwUK

  • KeyShot Beta
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2910
Re: Update sketchup model ???
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2015, 12:50:17 pm »
Edit and save with Sketchup, then re-import the model into KS using the update geometry option at a guess - I didn't do much work with SU so no promises that will work

Martin

Offline richardfunnell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • ID Rendering + KeyShot Workflow
    • My page
Re: Update sketchup model ???
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2015, 08:40:56 am »
What version of SketchUp are you running? If you simply hit the KeyShot button in SU again, it should update your file in your KeyShot session.

Offline a.simonas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Update sketchup model ???
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2015, 10:16:36 am »
It does update, but sometimes it messes up geometry, flips it upside down or adds another model on top. Or I'm doing something wrong.
I use Sketchup 2015 pro and keyshot 5

Offline richardfunnell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • ID Rendering + KeyShot Workflow
    • My page
Re: Update sketchup model ???
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2015, 11:15:12 am »
Is this anything you can recreate, or do you have a model that can be shared?

Offline a.simonas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Update sketchup model ???
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2015, 11:48:19 am »
Usually its random, but I will try to recreate something and share it here.

Offline a.simonas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Update sketchup model ???
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2015, 02:12:11 am »
When I add some objects into sketchup scene and hit render it updates with scene in keyshot correctly, but if I try to delete some objects in sketchup it keeps them in keyshot scene.

Offline richardfunnell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
  • ID Rendering + KeyShot Workflow
    • My page
Re: Update sketchup model ???
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2015, 10:38:59 am »
You're absolutely right, I was able to replicate this as well. I'll forward it on to our dev team. Thank you!