KeyShot Forum

Technical discussions => Data Import => ZBrush => Topic started by: overthere on January 30, 2015, 01:28:49 am

Title: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: overthere on January 30, 2015, 01:28:49 am
Is the product a single install only? Or can you do two non consecutively used installs, in the same way Zbrush allows?
Thanks
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: guest84672 on January 30, 2015, 04:19:57 am
You can install it on 2 computers, but can only have one activation at a time. You can easily transfer the license between the 2 installations.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: samrkennedy on January 30, 2015, 05:37:55 am
What resolution is allowed for Keyshot for Zbrush and what is allowed for Keyshot HD?
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: Rex on January 30, 2015, 06:08:01 am
KeyShot for ZBrush has unlimited rendering resolution.

KeyShot HD has 4.1 Megapixel (2560x1600) output resolution and 2.1 Megapixel (1920x1080) realtime resolution.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: RichardF on January 30, 2015, 11:49:26 am
Hi,
All work fine with ZB4R7 installation and working... 32 and 64 bits.
My problem: When I want to install Keyshot licence via Zbrush Bpr External render following instructions to the letter, I click Install my licence
it don't find my .zlic file because it ask for a .lic file.
I don't install the bridge because you said that it is already in the ZB4R7 installation.
UPDATE: I changed the .zlic file extension for .lic and no result.
My downloaded version: keyshot_w64_5.1.66.exe

UPDATE: I solved my problem.
I forgot to activate Keyshot with his serial number (the second in the email).
Now all work.
Te first time I only use the first serial number on the email to generate et download the zlic licence.
Now, if i have succeeded to activate Keyshot, the process to activate the bridge with the zlic licence has never worked.
Now when I click on BPR, I go directly to Keyshot correctly. The zlic licence stay a mystery...

Thanks for the great tool!
Richard
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: akiefer on January 31, 2015, 04:32:48 am
I bought the bridge yesterday and installed it along with the licence code into ZBrush R7.

When I select the Keyshot for external renderer and want to start off a render ZBrush says "Unable to connect to external renderer..."

I am on Mac OS X, I have a commercial License for Keyshot Pro, ZBrush R7 and now the bridge between them... but I cannot get it to work.

Anny suggestions?

Albert

We're happy to finally announce that 'KeyShot for ZBrush' is available. You can find all the information here: https://www.keyshot.com/zbrush/

Some background and details:

On July 23, 2013 we introduced (https://www.keyshot.com/press/luxion-introduces-integration-between-keyshot-and-pixologic-zbrush/) ZBrush integration with the GoZ KeyShot plugin. It was such a hit with the artists, Pixologic decided to take it further, put their development team on it and make it the integrated render solution for ZBrush. On Aug. 8, 2013 they revealed (https://www.keyshot.com/2014/keyshot-zbrush-announced-pixologic/) ZBrush 4R7 and the KeyShot integration. Today (https://www.keyshot.com/press/luxion-pixologic-partner-release-keyshot-zbrush/), it's finally here. (Bit of excitement.) There are three components to this:

  • ZBrush 4R7
  • KeyShot for ZBrush
  • ZBrush to KeyShot Bridge

ZBRush 4R7 (list $795) and KeyShot for ZBrush + Bridge (list $349) are available through Pixologic (http://store.pixologic.com/). There's a limited time deal to get KeyShot for ZBrush + Bridge for $249. The Bridge is available by itself at $149 for those who already have KeyShot. 'KeyShot for ZBrush' is a special edition of KeyShot that works exclusively with ZBrush--same features as KeyShot, but has unlimited resolution and only imports ZBrush files.

Any questions, please ask.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: guest84672 on January 31, 2015, 04:36:43 am
Are you running KeyShot 5?
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: wolf-tec on February 01, 2015, 05:27:21 am
Here the same!!
KeyShot5 and KeyShot Zbrush Bridge,
the license file is not recognized . . .
Wolfgang

(http://)
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: keymanYYZ on February 01, 2015, 05:34:24 am
I'm having a hell of a time getting the zbrush/keyshot bridge (win lic) to work.

I already have a Keyshot 5 license but when launching the PBR button (and activating Keyshot under zbrush's render tab) it tries to find a .zlic file. I've tried to rename this file but it did not work. Zbrush just crashed.

Anyone have any idea how to make this an easy process?
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: akiefer on February 01, 2015, 06:09:31 am
Yes Thomas I do...

See screenshot...

Are you running KeyShot 5?
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: Artbot on February 01, 2015, 11:29:39 am
This may help.

On a Mac add ".zlic " at the end of the file name, and also, just to be safe get info on the file itself (Command I) and unlock the three listed user names,
set the file so that everyone can read and write.

Good luck.
 ;D
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: wolf-tec on February 01, 2015, 12:06:41 pm
thanx it works!!! :)
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: Artbot on February 01, 2015, 01:17:24 pm
I am getting one problem though. When I tried to open the ZBrush To Keyshot Content Installer, I got a message that it ..."is damaged and can't be open." I downloaded it again from the Web but it was the same size so it is probably not that. It is 737.1MB before opening the .DMG. [mac]

SO, I understand this is great extra content and won't affect me being able to work in ZB and or Key, which I can, and it is appearing to be a wonderful and also fast combination (I've got lots to explore and learn). But I would like to solve this and need help.
I will send this to Support now.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: 1vezsy on February 01, 2015, 01:56:54 pm
first
ok to get around the damage content try .going to system preferences --> security and privacy--> general look for allow apps downloaded from and change it to anyway.

second
if you have zb to keyshot pluging installed on mac n get the
"unable to connect to external render"

try going to keyshot preferences --> Advances --> live linking and check if "enable live linking" box has been ticked. if not tick it and save. try going to zbrush and render bpr again
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: bisenberger on February 02, 2015, 03:13:39 am
You can install it on 2 computers, but can only have one activation at a time. You can easily transfer the license between the 2 installations.
What is the process for transferring the license between the 2 installations?
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: akiefer on February 02, 2015, 03:41:29 am
THANKS 1vezsy! That was exactly it! The settings in Keyshot to activate live linking was not checked.

I am happy now ;-)

Albert
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: Chad Holton on February 02, 2015, 03:43:20 am
You can install it on 2 computers, but can only have one activation at a time. You can easily transfer the license between the 2 installations.
What is the process for transferring the license between the 2 installations?

Please make sure both machines are hooked up to the internet first.

1. On your old system, go to Help/KeyShot>>About and write down your
serial code.
2. Go to File>Deactivate license. That will free up your license.
3. On your new system, you'll just need to run KeyShot, fill in the form
and your serial code.

It should be able to then automatically activate, but should it fail, you
can create a license request file to send to us for manual activation.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: bisenberger on February 02, 2015, 06:16:23 am
Thanks Chad
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: celso on February 02, 2015, 07:34:05 am
I bought keyshot for zbrush yesterday but I am still a bit confused.
On the page it says, "all keyshot features".
But I am having a hard time finding the render passes (layers) and the hdr editor. so... are those features not included? am I missing something ?
I am trying to find it on the documentation but as far as I can tell  it does not specify what should be on the keyshot for zbrush.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: Josh3D on February 02, 2015, 08:39:12 am
Hi Celso. It includes all features for KeyShot HD, so passes and HDR Editor are not included.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: celso on February 02, 2015, 08:52:48 am
Thanks Josh.
I just think this should be more clear.
When it says:
"All KeyShot features, including material and lighting presets"
Is a bit misleading.
I wish at least the passes were available. not having it made me regret buying it.
(its my fault, I could have used the trial version first) 
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: 1vezsy on February 02, 2015, 10:10:58 am
THANKS 1vezsy! That was exactly it! The settings in Keyshot to activate live linking was not checked.

I am happy now ;-)

Albert

you are welcome, totally know the feeling  :)
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: bisenberger on February 02, 2015, 10:39:23 am
KeyShot for ZBrush and ZBrush to KeyShot Bridge are super cool!  8)
Great combination, Thanks Pixologic and Luxion
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: Artbot on February 04, 2015, 03:36:58 pm
going to system preferences --> security and privacy--> general look for allow apps downloaded from and change it to anywhere...

This did it! Thanks. I was able to open the extra content!
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: Dylan on February 05, 2015, 12:24:31 am
I just want to say thanks to Luxion for Keyshot for ZBrush. I know a lot of work went into this.
As one of those who tested the excellent ZBrush/Keyshot 4 Goz beta, the Bridge system is miles better and is what many of us wanted for a long time.
Thanks again lads.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: guest84672 on February 05, 2015, 04:23:14 am
Thanks for the kind words, Dylan.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: namrettek on February 05, 2015, 06:45:49 am
I'm loving Keyshot for Zbrush!

Did have a couple of questions if anyone could help out.

1.  Can you render over 72 dpi?  I set it to 300 DPI but the psd file I got was 72.

2.  When I rendered with transparency I only got my model and a transparent BG.  Where is the BG plate?  I couldn't find it.  Does transparency render leave off the BG picture completely?

Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: guest84672 on February 05, 2015, 06:49:13 am
@1. The output file is always 72dpi. You will need to change it in PS.

@2. Yes.
Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: namrettek on February 05, 2015, 07:07:06 am
Thanks for your answers.

Ok so the DPI is just sort of a calculator so you know what it would be in print res?

Title: Re: KeyShot for ZBrush Installation
Post by: guest84672 on February 05, 2015, 08:29:06 am
Yup - exactly. We are looking at adding the ability to render out at the set DPI resolution in KeyShot 6.