KeyShot Forum

Support => General Support => Topic started by: brahmzxc on June 04, 2019, 05:46:47 am

Title: [RESOLVED] How to change the axis movement?
Post by: brahmzxc on June 04, 2019, 05:46:47 am
This is the screenshot of the animation that i'm trying to achieve. I need this object to be translated in diagonal axis( denoted by Red Line ). I have tried both local and global axis.
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: Eugen Fetsch on June 04, 2019, 05:55:12 am
Did you try to select the "Local" coordinates in the prompt?
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: mattjgerard on June 04, 2019, 06:31:10 am
Use the PICK option in the floaty pallet and pick an object that does have the axis pointing the way you want, and it will use that axis to rotate your selection. I do this all the time. Sometimes I have to put in my own proxy object (cylinder or something) manually align it the way I need the axis then use that objects' axis to rotate my group or object.
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: MWo on June 05, 2019, 08:34:36 am
I am sure that your geometry does not support local coordinates, like typically Rhino files do, when you don’t work with blocks. So the solution (as already mentioned) is to use a separate hidden object, that works as a pivot. You can use a simple cube from the “add geometry “ menu.


Hope that helps


Cheers
Marco
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: brahmzxc on June 05, 2019, 10:14:52 pm
ok i will try with surrogate objects.
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: brahmzxc on June 05, 2019, 10:21:27 pm
Hey, thanks for your suggestions but I need to animate with translation which doesn't allows me to select the pivot for any other object in accordance to the object I want to translate.
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: MWo on June 05, 2019, 11:38:42 pm
That is to sad! So math would help to get the right values from projecting the "local movement" to the global axis.

Good calc!


Cheers
Marco
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: brahmzxc on June 06, 2019, 12:09:39 am
Ya and i have figured out the right values by applying 3 translations on different axis.  ;D
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: MWo on June 06, 2019, 12:44:10 am
Maybe you can use a modelling tool and build a path and then measure both endpoints projected to the global coordinate system?!

Cheers
Marco
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: brahmzxc on June 06, 2019, 01:13:21 am
Sorry, I didn't get you can you share more information or a video link or something.
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: MWo on June 06, 2019, 02:12:45 am
OK - the last sentence was written compact.

Well, in this example I sketched a straight line with a length of 500 mm tilted in 50° on a 30° rotated plane. Then measured the distance of both endpoints and projected the values to the coordinate system on the lower endpoint. Now I would use these delta values for the animation in KeyShot.

(the measurement was made in CAD tool creo parametric 6.0 - but this is a basic feature that every modelling tool should provide more or less)

This is a long way. And some values can easily be calculated with simple math.


Hope that helps
Cheers

Marco
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: brahmzxc on June 06, 2019, 03:31:25 am
ok I got your point, will surely try this out.
Thanks for sharing your valuable knowledge.

Cheers
Brahmzxc
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: mattjgerard on June 06, 2019, 06:32:17 am
Or group your objects with the native KS geometry and see if it will read the axis of the proxy object instead of the imported geometry.
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: MWo on June 06, 2019, 06:48:36 am
that is a nice trick, Matt! It works very well.
Title: Re: How to change the axis movement?
Post by: brahmzxc on June 06, 2019, 10:39:47 pm
oh wow, thanks Matt. Superb

Cheers