KeyShot 在整个产品设计过程中,3D rendering 。这可以从一开始的概念可视化,到最后的营销或制造所需的图像。Formation Design是一家位于乔治亚州亚特兰大的产品开发公司,其能力范围包括从高度详细的产品设计到完整的飞机内饰。他们涵盖了开发的整个过程,重点是个人以及他们如何与设计互动和围绕设计互动。我们采访了Formation Design Group的合伙人Robert Henshaw,以进一步了解他们的设计过程以及他们如何使用KeyShot 。

形成设计集团

使用的建模软件。
NX/SolidWorks

你所看到的越来越多的图像都有一个丰富而充实的生命周期,并通过KeyShot 。Formation公司正在展示他们如何通过在NX中创建的模型来实现这一目标,并将其直接引入到KeyShot 。他们获得了许多设计奖项,包括Crown ESR 5000系列前移式叉车的GOOD DESIGN奖和Buzzy Needle Pain Relief System的医疗设计优秀奖。

队形设计

Formation的最新飞机座椅设计已被《飞机内饰》杂志报道,最近还获得了美国专利,其原创的座椅概念允许比其他任何座椅配置更多的平躺式座椅。该设计使我们的垂直空间,直接考虑到了整个机舱和乘客的舒适度。他们继续开发该座椅,改进该概念以用于商业和VIP飞机。

队形设计

队形设计

队形设计

"KeyShot ,在帮助我们专注于设计,而不是耗费时间去设置灯光和所有其他与渲染CAD模型相关的细微差别和调整方面,效果显著。"

虽然他们做的事情比飞机内饰多得多。Formation有广泛的工作选择,他们已经发展到承担许多不同的产品。"我们在1999年开始了公司,希望将我们的设计方法应用于许多行业。 我们的方法包括研究人们如何和为什么使用产品,鲍勃说,"从这些观察中,我们在精心设计功能潜力、美学特征和生产解决方案的计划的基础上组成产品解决方案。然后,我们通过原型设计与终端用户一起验证和完善解决方案。多年来,我们已经完成了许多成功的项目,其中许多项目获得了设计和行业奖项,这些都为我们带来了越来越多的机会。"

由于拥有一支由兴趣广泛的设计师组成的团队,Formation公司能够承接各种不同的项目,并将这种方法应用于每个项目。

许多不同的客户可能意味着使用许多不同的软件包,自他们创办公司以来,NX是三维建模的主要解决方案。"我们喜欢NX的力量,喜欢它在自由造型方面的灵活性,喜欢它在处理大型装配方面的稳定性。我们也使用Solidworks。在我们创办公司之前,我们就知道我们想充分利用越来越多的数字工具,使我们不仅能够提高效率,而且最重要的是更有创造力。我们也是使用Wacom Cintiq平板电脑进行概念素描的早期采用者,这使我们能够流畅地从三维CAD转移到素描,几乎没有中断。"

但这并没有结束,"几年前,我们还在CAM和大型数控技术方面进行了大量投资,这使我们能够在非常紧凑的时间框架内,在自己的车间里建立模型和原型。拥抱和推动自己使用不断发展的技术的力量,使我们能够在一个相对较小的设计公司里非常多产。"

当寻找一个3D rendering 包时,他们知道他们想解决什么问题。鲍勃说,"找到KeyShot ,就像实现了一个梦想。我们总是对试图从我们的CAD数据中获得良好的可视化图像而耗费的时间感到沮丧。设置灯光和场景以带来合理的可信度是很费力的,而且我们总是觉得他们没有达到逼真的程度"。

这就是KeyShot 的作用。"KeyShot 在帮助我们专注于设计方面取得了显著成效,而不是在设置灯光和所有其他与渲染CAD模型相关的细微差别和调整方面浪费时间。基于环境的照明是一个奇妙的进步,它真正提高了我们的工作流程和概念可视化的质量。基于同样直观界面的动画功能的增加,使我们能够在没有巨额预算和引进专家的情况下,对概念进行可视化并讲述故事。"

由于他们手下有许多项目,我们想知道他们所做的一些更令人难忘的项目。"这里的每个人都有不同的喜爱。"鲍勃说:"我真的很喜欢看到幕后的情况,无论是像空中客车公司汉堡工厂这样的巨大制造基地,还是看到核子照相机如何通过计算异国晶体发出的光的规格来构建你的循环系统的三维模型。我们的大部分工作都涉及到使技术尽可能容易获得和使用。因此,当我们收到一份简报,涉及到设计一个看起来尽可能可怕的彩弹射击面具时,我们都玩得很开心。多样性使事情变得有趣"。

队形设计

队形设计

队形设计

队形设计

队形设计

队形设计

队形设计

队形设计

队形设计

队形设计

KeyShot is used to create 3D rendering all along the product design process. This can be from the beginning, at concept visualization, to the end, when images are needed for marketing or manufacturing. Formation Design is a product development firm out of Atlanta Georgia whose capabilities range from highly detailed product design to complete aircraft interiors. They cover the entire process of development with a focus on the individual and how they interact with and around the design. We caught up with Robert Henshaw, partner of the Formation Design Group, to get further insight into their design process and how they’re using KeyShot.

Formation Design Group

Modeling software used:
NX/SolidWorks

More and more images you see have a rich and fulfilling lifecycle drenched by the materials and lighting applied via KeyShot. Formation is showing how they’re able to do this with the models they create in NX and bring directly into KeyShot. They’re recipients of many design awards including the GOOD DESIGN award for the Crown ESR 5000 Series Reach Truck and the Medical Design Excellence Award for the Buzzy Needle Pain Relief System.

Formation’s latest aircraft seating design has been featured in Aircraft Interiors Magazine and has recently been granted a US Patent for the original seating concept that allows a greater number of lie-flat seats than any other seat configuration. The design makes us the vertical space with a direct consideration for the entire compartment and the comfort of the passenger. They continue to develop the seat, improving the concept for use on commercial and VIP aircraft.

“KeyShot has been remarkable at helping us stay focused on design as opposed to burning time setting up lights and all the other nuances and tweaking associated with rendering a CAD model.”

They do a lot more than aircraft interiors though. Formation has a wide selection of work, and they’ve grown to take on a lot of different products, “We started the company in 1999 wanting to apply our approach in design to many industries.  Our approach involves studying how and why people use products, Bob say, “From these observations we compose product solutions based on carefully crafting the functional potential, aesthetic character and the plan for producing the solution. Then, we validate and refine solutions with end users through prototyping. Over the years we have completed many successful projects, many of which have garnered design and industry awards with these leading to more and more opportunities for us.”

With a team of designers with a wide variety of interests, Formation has been able to take on a diverse set of programs and apply this approach to each project.

Many different customers can mean working with many different software packages, with NX being the primary solution for 3D modeling since they started the company. “We like the power of NX and its flexibility for free-form modeling and its robustness for handling large assemblies. We also use Solidworks. Before we started the company we knew we wanted to fully leverage the growing number of digital tools that would allow us to not only be efficient but most importantly, more creative. We were also early adopters of concept sketching using Wacom Cintiq tablets which allowed us to fluidly move to and from 3D CAD to sketching with little interruption.”

But it doesn’t end there, “Several years ago we also invested heavily in CAM and large format CNC technology which has allowed us to be able to build mock-ups and prototypes in our own shop under very compressed time frames. Embracing and pushing ourselves to use the power of evolving technologies has allowed us to be very prolific for a relatively small design firm.”

When looking for a 3D rendering package, they knew what problems they wanted to solve. Bob says that, “Finding KeyShot was like a dream realized. We were always frustrated with the amount of time that could be consumed trying to get well visualized images from our CAD data. Setting up lights and scenes to bring about a plausible amount of believability was laborious and we were always feeling they were failing short of being photorealistic.”

And that is where KeyShot came in. “KeyShot has been remarkable at helping us stay focused on design as opposed to burning time setting up lights and all the other nuances and tweaking associated with rendering a CAD model. The environment based lighting is a fantastic advancement which has really enhanced our work flow and quality of our concept visualizations. The addition of animation functionality that is based on the same intuitive interface has allowed us to visualize and tell the story of concepts we never were able to do before without huge budgets and bringing in specialist.”

With som many projects under their belt, we wanted to know what have been some of the more memorable project the group has worked on. “everyone here has a different favorite.” Bob says, “I really enjoy seeing behind the scenes, whether it’s a huge manufacturing site such as Airbus’s Hamburg plant or seeing how a nuclear camera can construct 3D models of your circulatory system all by counting specs of light being emitted by an exotic crystal. Most of our work involves making technology accessible and as friendly to use as possible. So, when we received a brief that involved designing a Paintball mask that was to be as frightening looking as possible we all had a great time with it. Variety keeps things interesting.”